Someone like it a bit hot

Chicken Curry with Vegetable

Chicken Curry with Vegetable

Inspired by Rick Stein’s Far Eastern Odyssey, a cookery programme I saw recently, I came up this simple but very tasty dish – Thai Chicken Curry.

This has become one of my signature dishes. It has everything – meat, vegetable, spices……I love this exotic dish!

When it comes to food, my favourite has to be food in Asia. But I have to avoid most dishes in Thai restaurants here in London. Simply because they are too spicy. And I believe too much chili ruins my taste buds as I can’t taste anything else after I got this burning sensation in my mouth.

This dish will give you a spicy taste, a tingling sensation, yet rather subtle, you will then be able to taste other spices in this dish.

Here is a list of ingredients:

1. Meat (cut into small pieces): 500g organic chicken thighs (never use chicken breasts, they will be tough and dry, alternatively use chicken drum sticks, but make sure you make a few cuts in each drum stick so it can be cooked through.)

2. Vegetable: potatoes, carrots and zucchini.

3. coconut milk (1 can, 400ml), galangal, lemon grass, shallots, fish sauce, shrimp paste, curry paste, palm sugar, fresh lime, coriander.

Now cooking instruction:

1. Heat oil in the wok, stir fry the chicken until the meat turns to white, take them out of the wok and leave them in a bowl.

2. Add some more oil to the wok, heat it, stir fry the following ingredients in the wok:  sliced galangal (one chunk is enough), chopped lemon grass, 4 or 5 shallots, then added chunks of potatoes, carrots, zucchini to the wok, stir them.

3. Add 1 or 2 teaspoons of curry sauce (depending on how spicy you want the dish to be), I used Matsaman curry sauce as it’s less spicy than other pastes. Pour a can of coconut milk, add some fish sauce (2 tea spoons), palm sugar, mix the shrimp paste with a little bit water, add it to the wok, some fresh lime juice, add half tea spoon of turmeric powder, close the lid, bring it to boil, then taste the soup and see whether you need to add more paste or fish sauce.

If you are happy with the soup, now add the chicken pieces, simmer for about 20 minutes.

When it’s ready to serve, sprinkle some coriander to the dish.

Bon Appetit!

P.S. All you need is your passion for food, plus a little imagination, you won’t fail, I promise:-)

Matsaman Curry Paste

Matsaman Curry Paste

Galangal

Galangal

Lemon Grass

Lemon Grass

2 responses to “Someone like it a bit hot

  1. I believe if you do something in your life everyday you should strive to be good at it. I just so happen to eat everyday so I considered it essential to learn how to cook. I think every person should at least try. This looks tasty, i’ll have to give it a shot on one of these cold nights somtime, thanks!

  2. I just got an email from my Thai girlfriend. She said she never added extra fresh galangal and lemon grass to the dish. Having read my blog, she is going to try out and see whether it makes any difference. Let’s see:-) this dish is really simple, serve for two people, but if you eat alone, you can keep the rest in the fridge and warm up next meal, I guess it will taste even better!

Leave a Reply

