Bagdad Café

bagdad_cafe

Bagdad Cafe

Bagdad Cafe, also known as Out of Rosenheim, is a quiet film that speaks volumes about how human relationships influence each other even in the bleakest environment.

I have been to Rosenheim once. It was on my trip back from Austria. I didn’t see the whole town. As I remember, it was just like any other small town in Bavaria, clean and quiet.

So, the film started with this typical buxom woman from Rosenheim being dumped in this dusty barren place on her way to Las Vegas. What happened then?

It’s not a usual feel good film that falls into every category of cliché. Stereotyping the film might have, but it was one of the winning features that created a sharp contrast and clashes between Jasmin and those in the middle of nowhere.

I was particularly impressed by a sequence of Jasmin Münchgstettner sitting for Rudi, who painted a series of portraits. The progressive montage was such an excellent work that created a surreal and comic visual effect on screen without the need of more dialogue.

Taking off her clothes in front of the camera wasn’t anything new for German actress Marianne Sägebrecht. I heard that this film was inspired by the actress herself.

It certainly was a challenge to present nudity in a new light. Bagdad Café achieved it and blended it flawlessly to the simple plot with Marianne and Jack’s wonderful acting.

I must admit I wasn’t in a great mood before the film started playing. The song written for the film is so beautiful. It had a soothing effect to calm me down right in the beginning.

For the first 10 minutes, I thought it was going to be a boring slow film that I couldn’t watch to the end. Instead, I was captivated by the subtlety throughout the film. It is a real gem that shines through a pack of marbles.

This is not a film that you are likely to forget for many years to come.

Leave a Reply

